ScreenShot Mondays – The Playground Rocking Horse Trust

A couple of Mondays per month, PlayGroundology screenshots a cyberspot that focuses on playgrounds, or play. I hope readers dive in and explore. Even if you’ve seen the selection before, take a moment and check to see what content has been added recently.

Think of this as a very slow stumble upon, an invitation to relish something new or to revisit an old friend. Some of the people and places may be household names in the world of play and playgrounds, others not so much. I hope all will pique your interest in what they have to offer and further your own possibilities for playfulness.

The Playground Rocking Horse Trust

I recently happenstanced across The Playground Rocking Horse Trust and was delighted to find this site that so lovingly documents a marvelous piece of playground equipment. Until a few months ago, I had only seen these equine multi-riders in photos from the UK. Imagine my delight when I randomly bumped into one in a postage stamp park in downtown Montreal.

Click through and treat yourself to an elegant and simple journey to the playground rocking horse’s digital stables. You won’t be disappointed as you explore the photos, video, links and commentary. John, the site’s creator had an opportunity to study children in playgrounds in the early 1970s. It seems to have had a very positive influence as he is documenting 40 years on.

Through John’s site, I came across British Pathé’s online newsreel collection. I quite easily found a real treasure trove of archival moving images. It was a magnificent find for this playground aficiando which I posted yesterday. Thanks again John.

Here is my contribution to the digital stable. If you allow I’ll even give this fine Montreal mare a name – Joual – The actual word joual is the representation of how the word “cheval” (Standard French: [ʃəval], horse) is pronounced by those who speak joual.

Take a canter, no a gallop over to The Playground Rocking Horse Trust.

2 responses to “ScreenShot Mondays – The Playground Rocking Horse Trust

  1. This was always my favourite playground piece… It wasn’t too high, it didn’t make you dizzy, but boy could you get a bruise on your bum if there were a few of you making it move! Thanks for sharing. I saw one a few years ago in a pub garden in England and was on it like a shot!

    Like

    • Yes, this is a great site, and the only one I’m aware of, that’s dedicated to the playground rocking horse. I only wish they had grazed further afield during my childhood. I was like a kid at Christmas when I saw that gliding steed in the small Montreal park. The kids weren’t with us that day but the next time we’re in Montreal, I’ll be sure to go to the park for a rousing rocking horse ride. Thanks for sending off into the twitterverse;

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.