Tumblring around a new Playscape

I’ve started playing around with tumblr, a new-to-me platform, to publish short playground related posts and promote PlayGroundology through teasers on upcoming activity. The result is PlayGrounding. I hope you can take a moment to drop in and flip through the posts. There is a heavy bias to more images, less text. So far, I’ve been posting every day but there will be fluctuations in the posting schedule.

It’s thanks to PlayGroundology readers that I discovered tumblr. This ‘discovery’ happened three years after the launch of the service so no early adopter prizes for me. Less than a month in and I’m loving it.

I woke up one morning in mid-April to start my standard blogging routine, a little web based research, tidying up some files, checking in on my dashboard for visitors and comments. I had to rub my eyes because at 5h30 there were already in excess of 300 page views. The page view ticker continued to climb, charting like the hottest song on Billboard. By the end of the day there were over 2600 views. The following day clocked in at 1600 and then the crash – numbers dropping to previously established averages.

The blizzard of activity was due to a reference being made, and a link posted, to metafilter – a community weblog that attracts 3.5 million unique users per month. Many of the metafilter directed visitors were tumblrs who shared PlayGroundology within their respective communities. So thanks for spreading the word and for introducing me to a cool and easy to use new platform. Keep on tumblrin’…

A general thanks to flickrites, tumblroos, playground bloggers and playground lovers everywhere who are helping to build awareness of PlayGroundology. I appreciate your support.

Leave a Reply

