Thanks for the ABC Memories

Thanks to everyone for participating in ABCs4Play. Over 26 consecutive days 70 players from Scotland, England, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, the US and Canada had some fun with wordplay for playwords. Amongst this group were landscape architects, educators, authors, play advocates and students. The game generated somewhere in excess of 700 tweets and over 8,000 page views on the PlayGroundology blog. I haven’t had a chance yet for an actual count but I think it would be safe to say that from A to Z we pulled in 2,000 to 2,500 words.

ABCs puzzle

I was very excited with the pick up and level of play. I had no idea what to anticipate at the outset but as it turns out, the number of players was just right. In fact, it was the maximum that I could handle in the couple of hours a day I had to dedicate to the game each day.

But it’s not really the numbers that tell the story. Each day was like Christmas with new words to unwrap. I’d check the hashtag #ABCs4Play to see what came in overnight from twitter friends (old and new), email and blogpost comments. I was never disappointed. There were always new words (for me), witty combinations, alliteration a go go and yes, on a few occasions – poetry. If you haven’t had a chance to browse through the submissions, I invite you to do so. Each letter of the alphabet has its own post right here at PlayGroundology.

The last post for ABCs4Play was just four days ago but it seems so far away. Truth be told, I’m experiencing a wee bit of withdrawal from a fun activity. Are there any readers who would like to give me a hand designing an ABCs4Play ebook? I think we have enough material to work with and it would be a fun project to let loose on the world for free. If you’re interested in the ebook idea, contact me through twitter @PlayGroundology, or by email – playgroundology@gmail.com.

Speaking of withdrawal, it’s fortunate that my fellow ABCs4Play alphabeteer Sue Atkins has just started up ABCWonderful Kids. It’s easy to play. Start with – My Child is……. fill in the blank each day with a word starting with the letter of the day. This is Day 2, Letter B. You can check out Sue in twitterville – @SueAtkins. The hashtag for this ABC game is #ABCWonderfulKids.

Now if you’re handy with boxes, get a submission ready for the #XmasBoxChallenge another fun, play idea from the Grass Stain Guru. Submissions close on January 2, 2012.

Is there a better use for a box?

Enjoy the New Year wherever you may be.

Leave a Reply

