Happy 2 Birthday PlayGroundology

Today marks the end of PlayGroundology’s second year. It’s been more fun than the first if that’s possible. I’m fully confident now that there is no shortage of stories on play and playgrounds. Barring unforeseen mishaps to yours truly, I’m counting on years of discovery still lying ahead.

This is the year that PlayGroundology dove headlong into the Twitterverse (@PlayGroundology) not knowing what to expect. I quickly found out that it’s a place to meet new friends, to participate in a community of people from around the world who share information, insights, resources and news about play. It’s a great place too to discover story ideas and to have fun as we did with ABCs4Play.

This was also the year of ScreenShot Mondays – twice a month quick and dirty highlights of individuals and organizations who promote, advocate, document and tell stories about playgrounds and play. I’ve been remiss with a regular Monday schedule of late but feel it’s about to get rolling again soon.

My love affair with flickr’s curated galleries continues. My favourite galleries from this past year are Kids at Play and Kids at Play II. If you haven’t dropped by, poke around and see some of the arresting images taken by photographers from around the globe. What’s best is that this reservoir of photos is continually being filled with new images.

As the year closed, I added a favourite post to Angelique Felix’s, The Best Ideas for Kids 2011. This was my first experience with the brilliance of a bloghop. Thanks to Angelique and the 238 other bloggers who participated. I will be a future bloghopper.

Another innovative space I came across this year is playscapes forum by arcady, creator and author of the Playscapes blog. It’s a great spot to find tools, people and resources. If playgrounds are your thing, check it out.

Over the next week or so, I’ll roll up some of the best posts of the past year just in case you missed them.

In the year ahead, PlayGroundology invites you to Europe, Asia, Africa and beyond. I hope you’ll be able to join the journey and bring a friend or two along also. I love to hear comments and story suggestions too. Don’t be shy.

I’m also about to embark on Facebook to make something of the PlayGroundology page. I’m feeling a little daunted by this so if there are any readers who would like to share tips, ideas, or offer a little help, I’d love to hear from you.

Thanks so much for making the time to read PlayGroundology.

A special thanks to my muses who at 6, 4 and 2 indulge me with a mixture of humour, love and the excitement reserved for new play possibilities.

2 responses to “Happy 2 Birthday PlayGroundology

  1. Happy Birthday, congratulations, and keep up the great work! Your blog is always a good read!

Leave a Reply

