Popular PlayGroundology Posts Year II Revisited

This is my second and final act of self indulgence vis à vis rebroadcasting PlayGroundology posts from year two. I think each of the four embody the magic and wonderful possibilities of the interweb whether they relate to researching, sharing, or collaborating. I hope you’ll enjoy these offerings. Thanks for visiting PlayGroundology.

Newsreel Playgrounds – British Pathé

Thanks to the assignment editors, producers and cinematographers at British Pathé for this selection of playgroundabilia ranging from 1939 to 1967 in various UK locales.

Click on the image to be taken to the play page. Clips can be played at full screen and each has a detailed shot list. Enjoy and thanks again to British Pathé for making their inventory available for public viewing.

Bolton Schoolyard Playground – 1939 – Runtime: 00:50

In all, there are five vignettes to enjoy. This spring I am planning a guest post on the British Pathé blog about these visual treasures and any others that I can source. More…
_______________________________________________________

Flickr Blog Features PlayGroundology Curated Photos

Click photo to enlarge

What a pleasant surprise when I discovered that the Flickr blog had featured some photos curated by PlayGroundology in a flickr gallery entitled Swedish Aesthetic.

I never tire of thanking the photographers who post their images to flickr. Curating photos using the gallery function is nothing short of a gift. More…
_______________________________________________________

Seven Up! meets Adventure Playground

I came across a reference earlier this week to the adventure playground scene in the British documentary Seven Up!. The ongoing popularity of this television documentary made it relatively easy to find on the wonderbox as I sometimes call the internet. The acceleration of the opening sequence is zippingly exhilarting. More…
_______________________________________________________

ABCs for Play – Call and Answer

Starting this morning and ending on Christmas Day, PlayGroundology will be going through the alphabet one letter per day and asking people to submit their favourite words related to play for that letter.

PlayGroundology will send out a tweet ‘call’ each morning with some of its favourites and wait to receive ‘answers’ from others with their favourite play words for the letter of the day.

It was a great participatory game with wordplay and playwords galore. The A through Z results, ranging from 20 to 60 words per letter are posted on PlayGroundology. More…

2 responses to “Popular PlayGroundology Posts Year II Revisited

  1. I would just die to get to see a video of kids playing on the Johnnies(some people call it a Maypole). This was my favorite thing in the world when I was in elementary school in the 50’s. The really athletic kids(like myself)hooked our arm through the wooden frame at the end of the chain, and swung like crazy by one arm! The trick was to flip your body at exactly the right time when you started slowing down, and to hit the ground with both feet while pushing yourself forward. I guess it was a little bit dangerous for those who couldn’t remember to duck when they let go, but worth every risky minute. I always had bruises and broken blood vessels on the underside of my upper arm, and thought it was just cool! I’m so glad I have that memory!

    • Hi, so sorry I didn’t reply earlier. I’ve been distracted a little putting together a presentation on….PLAYGROUNDS. Thanks for sharing your memories. My 5-year-old girl is a mass of bruises. She’s our daredevil, tries anything and everything. Cheers, Alex

Leave a Reply

