A Journey of Epic Proportions

How do you spice up your morning commute to work and at the same time make it more meaningful? Look no further than my friend Chris Gregory for an answer. Chris is a champion for play at the Isle of Man’s leading children’s charity The Children’s Centre. To raise awareness for outdoor play and safe and playful routes for children, he is taking a different means of self propelled transport every workday for the month of March. His epic journey started out with a 3 kilometer spacehopper commute. Do I hear sore thighs?

Isle of Man News covered the action too. Click through for their video segment – Hopping to work.

It seems like March came in like a lion for Chris. After regaining his lucidity, he penned a few humourous words about the inaugural March2Work jaunt in his Play – Isle of Man blog.

The spacehopper and scooter have now bit the dust as means of transport in this commuter odyssey. Tomorrow morning, Chris will be in a canter on his hobby horse as he makes his way along the home stretch of Douglas’ Woodbourne Road. He’ll stable the horse at his office digs and get on with his day’s work in support of play.

We’ll be dropping in periodically throughout March to see how Chris is making out. Personally, I can’t wait for the hula hoop next Friday and the grand finale piggy back – Chris please try and get video of these! Full schedule here.

Show your support for Chris, outdoor play and safe routes for kids by sending him a tweet or two to @chrisplayiom, or leaving a comment on his blog – Play – Isle of Man

8 responses to “A Journey of Epic Proportions

  1. Hey Alex — I’m so glad to have stumbled across your great blog. As a fellow proponent of outdoor play and exploration, I applaud what you’re doing, and would like to be in touch. Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks Jeffrey. It’s a pleasure to meet you. I’ve dropped in on the One Man’s Wonder blog – interesting material. I always say you can’t have enough wonder and you can treble that sentiment for children’s play. I’m always interested in featuring interesting playgrounds/playscapes. If you come across some in your travels and take photos I’d love to look at sharing them on PlayGroundology. I see you’re pretty handy with a camera and enjoy travel in South America. PlayGroundology has not published much as yet about that part of the world. Let me know if you’d be interested. Cheers, Alex

      • Alex — thanks for the reply, and for taking a look at One Man’s Wonder — I really appreciate it!
        Now that you’ve raised my consciousness, I’ll be looking for interesting playscapes to share with you. My sister-in-law’s in Nicaragua right now, so I’ll ask her to keep her eyes open there.
        Saludos

  2. Pingback: March2Work on the Isle of Man «

  3. This is great we build playground equipment and have a lot of fun, it is good to see someone on our wavelength can’t wait to see the hula hoop one I was always an expert at hula hooping and even won a sticker for hula hooping the longest when I was 9!

    • Now I was never too swift at hula-hooping. Check the ‘What the hoop’ post in this blog. Chris’ March2Work campaign is awesome. He’ll be knackered by the end of the month but I’m sure he’ll have a big smile on his face. Thanks for writing, please tell your friends about PlayGroundology. Cheers, Alex

  4. Very interesting blog – glad to have found it! I’m in Canada too (Montreal) and am interested in children’s play for my doctoral work (an examination of a public health discourse on children’s play) I’m highlighting some of the consequences that a safety-focused and medicalised form of play might have for children’s play generally. Your images and comments are really refreshing!
    Thanks, Steph

Leave a Reply

