Adventure: playing out in Telford Road

Just love this photocentric post from The Library Time Machine. Thanks for sharing these images. I’m sure PlayGroundology readers will enjoy them. Hey Canada, what do you say, don’t we need a few adventure playgrounds sprinkled across the land?

The Library Time Machine

Adventure playgrounds were a feature of childhood/adolescence which passed me by really. I wasn’t brought up in London and they were mostly I think a phenomenon of urban life. I saw plenty of them when I first came to London in 1973 – brightly painted constructions of wood, behind fences, teeming with kids and I had the vague sense of having missed out on something. If you come from a small town, urban life, even the life in what might be called “deprived” areas looks exciting.

So when my colleague Tim showed me a packet of photos of the Notting Hill Adventure Playground in Telford Road that he’d retrieved in the course of an enquiry, I was fascinated by these scenes of communal play. The blogging cells in my brain immediately recognised them assomething you had to see.

NHG Adventure 011

Most of these pictures come from a large packet of photographs donated…

View original post 519 more words

Leave a Reply

