Looking for Your Stories

My PlayGroundology alter ego is looking for your stories to share with attendees of Halifax’s 4th annual unconference – Emergent Learning. I have submitted a successful proposal to be an unpaid speaker at the event which is attended by educators, policy makers, parents, members of the medical community and others from across our part of the world here in Atlantic Canada who care about education.

Emergent Learning  graphicEmergent Learning Unconference – Halifax, Nova Scotia, October 2015

I’ve entitled the presentation, Risk, Resilience and the Renaissance of Play. If you have an anecdote, a photo, an infographic or video footage that illustrates the subject matter I will be speaking to, I’d love to hear from you. I will credit everything I am able to use.

Emergent Learning my sessionPresentation outline – Emergent Learning Unconference.

I’ve already had the opportunity to connect with some ‘play people’ in Australia, the UK, the USA and Canada and would be pleased to gather additional stories form these venues as well as other parts of the world.

Help PlayGroundology tell the story of Risk, Resilience and the Renaissance of Play. The final presentation will be available for sharing in November.

Thanks in advance to all those who are able to share stories. You can leave a comment here or write to playgroundology ‘at’ gmail.com.

Emergent Learning PostBackyard fun – simple pleasures with a twist of risk

8 responses to “Looking for Your Stories

  1. Hello,

    Great idea to show how play comes natural for children. I would like to talk to you about some great experiences Gyroscope has created with museums and libraries that bring out play in children and families. We continue to be amazed at how children, when given simple materials and a goos environment create great experiences.

    • Hi Steve, thanks for the note. I’d like to connect with you at some point. Where do you see your stories fitting in with the outline of the presentation? Is it related to risk, resilience or another aspect. Or are you interested in a conversation that focuses on your firm’s work? You can connect with me at the address provided in the post. Look forward to hearing from you. Cheers, Alex

  2. Hi,

    Going to send some photos using SendSpace. Drop me a line is usable and I can provide more info. Good luck at the presentation.

    -Bob

    Bob Thorne

    Play:Art:Design PO Box 733 Speonk, NY 11972 631.513.0769 btplayartdesign@gmail.com http://www.playartdesign.net

  3. Hello Alex,
    I am a principal at Petite Riviere Elem. school. I have experimented at our school with the ‘woods’ for the past 5 years. Our ‘woods’ is A wooded space on campus, filled with tarps, ropes, buckets, sticks, logs and ‘stuff’ perfect for exploring, fort building and lots of creating, climbing and making. Our woods is open during the day for all players. I extend an invite to you to come on down to the south shore and check us out if it peaks your interest. love your message.
    Leslie

    • Leslie – Thanks so much for the invitation which i will certainly take you up on. My interest is peaked. My kids are in a Conseil Scolaire Acadien school. Sometimes the PD days don’t coincide with the English schools. That would be a great time for me to scoot down with my kids 5, 7 and 9 if that would work for you. I’ll check the school calendar and get back to you. Do you have any photos or video you can share? Cheers, Alex

  4. Caileigh Flannigan

    Hi Alex,

    Awesome blog!
    I can give you some information from my research on loose parts in a natural, outdoor environment if you wish. I have a lot of qualitative data on risk taking and on creativity and discovery with the materials. Send me an email through my gmail account if you would like to chat further about this.

    -Caileigh

    • Thanks Caileigh, it has certainly turned the whole play thing into a labour of love for me. A little tardy getting to my replies and thanks lately. See you soon for some east coast loose parts fun. Cheers, Alex

Leave a Reply

